PDA

View Full Version : Need help with plants

matthewh2
06-12-2010, 12:00 AM
Am not sure what am doing wrong, i seem to have no luck with plants, i buy swords looking good at the shops take them home look good for a week then die, i have used co2 applicators kh plant foods, tablets, so what am i doing wrong, anyone got the solution as plants are expensive too

Altum Nut
06-12-2010, 12:48 AM
Hi matthew,

I am no expert....however I have grown many plants in my time so can you list more info.

-Size of tank?
-Temp of tank water?
-Wattage of light fixture?
-Length of time light are on?
-Type of bulbs you are using?
-Types of substrate? Flourite, eco-complete, sand, gravel, etc

This will hopefully help us address your problem.

...Ralph

Chad Hughes
06-12-2010, 12:48 AM
Am not sure what am doing wrong, i seem to have no luck with plants, i buy swords looking good at the shops take them home look good for a week then die, i have used co2 applicators kh plant foods, tablets, so what am i doing wrong, anyone got the solution as plants are expensive too

Well, plants can be a little tricky. Tell me more about your tank and water. How many watts of light do you have and what kind? What is your substrate? What is the GH of your water or TDS? When you say CO2 applicators, what form are you speaking of?

Best wishes!

matthewh2
06-12-2010, 12:56 AM
Tank is a a 4 foot tank, lights are a T5 sun lux gravel is 3-5 mm subtrate gravel, have had sand also, co2 was one of those make shift ones with glass cone with a porous outlet, mixed up yeast in a container coke bottle and sealed tight and small bubbles would eventually come out, have got slight soft water and do a 60% wc weekly. lights use to be on 5 hrs a day or came on 6 at night and off around 10-11pm

Chad Hughes
06-12-2010, 01:07 AM