PDA

View Full Version : Finally an introduction, and a slew of questions (long read)

kleankord
06-28-2010, 01:09 AM
Hello, DFW member here. I lurked for a month, joined and didn't post for another month, and finally decided to ask some questions. As a quick side note, I went to the NADA convention; once I came during the dinner, so it was closed to the public, and when I came back again, was to try and snag some juvies at the auction, but was repeatedly outbid. (just didn't have to cash at the time)

Right now I have a 4 tanks running: one 20L turtle tank that will eventually have to be upgraded, two 20s (a qt, and an extra set aside for breeding or whatever else might come my way), and one 75 gal community planted - my experimental tank which is always going through changes.

I'm relatively new to fish, having just started keeping earlier this year, and having kept fish for 3.5 years.

I'll start going into what i have planned. The 75 gal planted is destined for discus eventually, and I'll need some advice on who can stay and who needs to go. Current inhabitants: 10+ cardinals, ABN breeding pair, 7-8 clown loaches, 3 angels of varying ages, 5 corys (green & panda). Also want to add the tank is well lit with an upgraded light on the way, pressurized co2, and occasionally fertilized. I was hoping the CLs would not have to go, but I know I can make at least my money back if I have to sell them. The tank has a rena xp3 running it and I have an AC70 lying around that i could throw on there as well.. in fact I'm not opposed to buying another canister filter if that will help reduce the need for daily changes.

I've started getting into the practice of doing 30% twice a week and 50% once a week for a total of 3 per week... I'd like to keep it at that.