PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus

spiffyfish
07-19-2010, 08:59 PM
i am new to discus but have had fish my whole life. i am very interested in setting up a discus aquarium. i am looking advice on what the best thing would be for me to do, either a starter 55 gal. with 5 or 6 young discus, or go straight into a 125 gal. with 10-12 and take my chances on my first time. i have been looking at mac's discus as there is a variety and i can get juvenile discus there at a reasonable price, but i have read on here that his are imported, if anyone one can point me in the right direction, and somewhere i can get juvenile discus at a reasonable price it would be greatly appreaciated.

Chris

wadewc
07-19-2010, 09:17 PM
i am new to discus but have had fish my whole life. i am very interested in setting up a discus aquarium. i am looking advice on what the best thing would be for me to do, either a starter 55 gal. with 5 or 6 young discus, or go straight into a 125 gal. with 10-12 and take my chances on my first time. i have been looking at mac's discus as there is a variety and i can get juvenile discus there at a reasonable price, but i have read on here that his are imported, if anyone one can point me in the right direction, and somewhere i can get juvenile discus at a reasonable price it would be greatly appreaciated.

Chris

Chris welcome to Simply. In my opinion either would work. I might be mistaken but most of the discus are imported. But there are alot of breeders out there if you would prefer. I don't see a problem with imported discus as long as you buy from a reptible dealler. I have purchase from Kenny and Mike all are imported and all are doing great. I have purchased fry from Bill and they are doing great as well.

Just my two cents.
Wade

spiffyfish
07-19-2010, 09:22 PM