PDA

View Full Version : Starting from scratch

CajunAg
08-11-2010, 07:36 PM
Hello all,

I'd like to get some thoughts from you all about my planned discus setup. I am a true beginner, I haven't had fish since my 10 gal kit tank in the 8th grade. I have decided to return to the hobby, but with a bang by going to discus. Now, I may be a beginner but I love to learn and being engineer, I worry about the details. I am in the very early planning stages right now, but I'd like to start ironing out major decisions so I can talk to the LFS here in Houston w/ confidence.

Anyways, my ideas for my tank:
1) Tank: 65 gal Aqueon pre-drilled, 36x18x18. I'd like to get a pre-drilled b/c I eventually want to upgrade the discus to a bigger tank and start a salty setup, which brings me to...
2) Filtering: Since I eventually would like to dabble in saltwater, I figured it be good to get a wet/dry filtration system to become familiar with it. The fact that I have heard it is "overkill" for freshwater is encouraging, but it seems that most on this forum do not use it. Another option is something like a Emperor 400 w/ or w/o a HOT Magnum canister. Cost and noise are a factor, but I am more concerned about the well-being of the fish.
3) Tank mates: Cardinal Tetra, bristle nose. Based on my size tank, with something like 6 discus in it, how many of each would you recommend I could support? I realize filtering is a factor, but I welcome any opinions on both!
4) Setup: sand substrate with driftwood, a few hardy plants like Java Fern or Anubias, maybe some rocks.
5) Purpose: simply to enjoy these majestic fish. I don't plan on breeding or showing, but I do want them happy.
6) Water: I've heard Houston has hard, slightly akaline water, would an RO be advisable? I found a counter top (http://www.freedrinkingwater.com/ro-counter-detail.htm) unit that wouldn't require me to alter my apartment's plumbing.

That's far from all the questions I have, but I think this will be a good start.

Thanks,