PDA

View Full Version : Please help me.

azpunisher24
09-01-2010, 04:49 AM
hello all.:)

i am still new to this hobby and i have a quick question.
i have been able to grow out my first 3 discus i ever bought without know nothing AT ALL about these fish to about 4 inches now. with no water changes at all and i never cleaned the bottom gravel ( i didnt know) :o i had the whole gravel, driftwood thing going, you know..but i mean they grew in the past 7 months. lol i know i will not grow them out to their fullest, but ill be satisfied with at least 5 inch discus =]

i recently bought 4 i'd say 2 inch juvies that i would really want to grow out.

since i cannot do daily or weekly water changes in my tank, ( i dont want my father paying too much ):o
i wanted to ask.
is there really a difference in syphoning the waste out and loosing water rather than just sucking it up with a canister filter? I bought a longer hose for the intake and the hose just sucks everything up in the bottom.So the water comes back without the waiste. i do have a bb tank so its really easy. i know that i do need many water changes to grow them out, but i'be be more than happy to atleast get them to atleast 5 inches.

is this a good idea?
any advice would help.

-abner

zooyorkthang
09-01-2010, 05:06 AM
I am new to the discus game myself but everyone suggest to put on a prefilter on to keep all the waste and food out. I'm sure you are going to foul out your water and filter really fast doing your method.
If you want to save on the water bill, maybe you can siphon the waste out into a bucket and let all the crap sink to the bottom of the bucket and siphon the top clean water back in. goodluck

DiscusLoverJeff
09-01-2010, 07:24 AM
I would think that longevity of the fish will be cut down if you do not at least give the fish a healthy enviornment. Added to that, a dirty tank can cause many health issues not just for discus but for many fish.