PDA

View Full Version : Sump on a discus tank?

Second Hand Pat
09-16-2010, 12:43 PM
Hey guys,

This is my first post and I am enjoying reading this forum. Been lurking for a couple of weeks. Lots of good info and great and some sad stories.

I am currently looking for a larger tank (75/90 gallons) for a discus tank and yes, I'm a discus newbie. Quite a few of the larger used tanks are drilled for a sump. Do you guys recommend a sump on a discus tank. If you do what do you use it for? Extra bio-media, filtration etc. Also if you recommend a sump would you consider a tank with a existing overflow chamber?

Thanks,
Pat

Skip
09-16-2010, 01:00 PM
idk anything about sump filters..

but WELCOME PAT!

ZX10R
09-16-2010, 01:12 PM
You will get a million different answers on if sumps are good or not. Depends on what a person uses and they are most familar with. I personally have a 92 gallon corner tank running on two canister filters. And to be honest I think they are a pain in the butt to take out and clean every couple of months. I am building a stand right now for a 120 gallon tank I just bought and I am building my own sump out of a old aquarium. My brother has a sump on his 200 gallon tank and it seems so much easier then the canister filters. I see a lot of people just use hydro sponges also which I have never used so not sure how well they work. I have heard if you can get a tank with holes in it for bulk heads to run a sump that is the way to go. My tank is glass and new so I am doing a overflow box which won't do as good but don't really have a choice.

Good Luck and welcome Pat

Sean

2wheelsx2
09-16-2010, 01:28 PM