PDA

View Full Version : Hey Guys - Newbie Here

kingfisherfleshy
09-24-2010, 03:19 PM
I have been a member for awhile now...reading the stickys, and looking through the information that is available so far. I have also been reading the discus section in TFH magazine every month, and own a couple books on discus. I am now convinced that discus are something that I want.

I found someone who is selling 7 week old discus for $15 a pop. I can meet him this weekend in chicago. I dont care about quality...pedigree...or whatever. I just see this as a good opportunity to pick some fish up and try to gain some experience.

That being said, I have hard water around where I live. I have a bare-bones RO unit though...so I could mix my water 50/50 if need be. I have a heater, and a water storage container for aging h2o. I know that there are no silver bullets, but does anyone want to chime in on things that I should have before getting the fish...ways to prepare for the fish...anything?

I plan on drip acclimating them if I do pick them up. Thanks in advance.

PAR23
09-24-2010, 06:11 PM
I have been a member for awhile now...reading the stickys, and looking through the information that is available so far. I have also been reading the discus section in TFH magazine every month, and own a couple books on discus. I am now convinced that discus are something that I want.

I found someone who is selling 7 week old discus for $15 a pop. I can meet him this weekend in chicago. I dont care about quality...pedigree...or whatever. I just see this as a good opportunity to pick some fish up and try to gain some experience.

That being said, I have hard water around where I live. I have a bare-bones RO unit though...so I could mix my water 50/50 if need be. I have a heater, and a water storage container for aging h2o. I know that there are no silver bullets, but does anyone want to chime in on things that I should have before getting the fish...ways to prepare for the fish...anything?