PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Issues/Questions

kmckim
11-07-2010, 11:23 PM
Its a long one... I am posting here because it crosses into a few areas, and I am still new to discus...

I started keeping discus in my 54 gallon aquarium around this time last year, and since then i have had no end to my mishaps. First there was the filter failure, which went unnoticed (while I was working extra) and claimed a blue diamond, among others.

Then more recently, several somethings went wrong. First the heater's thermostat broke and the water temp reached nearly 100 degrees. Granted the discus didn't seem the slightest bit bothered, but the other fish died in droves. I lost an ancient ancistrus, some catfish, etc.

Two or three weeks go by, and I manage to only make a mess with some spilled water. The discus, a blue diamond, leopard, white scorpion, and two golden butterflies (all from Kenny) are happy.

I install a new light set up over the tank, a corallife set up that increased the wattage from 60 watts to 130 and the five fish retreat into the back of the tank, hiding from the light. This didn't strike me as unexpected, or even very odd, as they were steal coming out to eat.

I came home late from work Thursday night and found my blue diamond floating on the surface of the tank sideways, panting with a visibly distended belly. I assumed gas, a problem he had had before and waited a bit, but when he deteriorated more, I decided to perform an epsom salt dip, following the directions listed here on the site. The diamond was dead before I came back into the room, despite the fact i thought he could be left there overnight to pass his blockage.

Right away I did a water change, checked the filter, and water chemistry. Water was normal for me (ph 6.5, ammonia and nitrite 0, nitrate less than .25, and if I have the -ite and -ate backwards because I always confuse them, it is supposed to be good water...)