PDA

View Full Version : tank size for breeding pair of discus?

eddienyc1
01-15-2011, 03:09 PM
I am a newbie to the hobby. I currently have a 75 gallon discus community aquarium setup with 6 young adult discus and a few other cohabitants. I set it up several months ago when the discus were much smaller.
Two of the discus have paired up and spawned several times in the tank. The babies never survive past the wriggler stage, as once they become free swimming the parents just can't corral them in a tank this busy with other inhabitants.

I want to set them up in their own tank and am thinking of getting the 56 gallon column tank setup which is for sale at Petsmart for a really good price. I am concerned that its large size (30"x18"x24") might be too big for babies to find their parents when they first become free swimming.

Has anyone else had experience with a tank this size (or bigger) being used as a breeding tank? Would I be better off with a 29 or 37 gal tank?

thanks in advance for any advice.

CharlesRT
01-15-2011, 03:19 PM
29 is best, 20 is oK, good luck.

Keith Perkins
01-15-2011, 04:39 PM
I personally use 29s, however one quite successful breeder I'm aware of prefers 55s. His thinking is that though it may be more difficult for fry to find the parents at first, as they grow (especially big batches) they are better off in a larger tank. When it's time to separate the fry and parents he pulls the parents and grows out the babies right in the tank they started out in. Just goes to show, there's often not just one right way to do this stuff.

Skip
01-15-2011, 07:00 PM
i have read.. some people like the big tanks.. cuz when its time to separate them.. you just pull out the parents.. and you can still continue to grow out the fry.. cuz the fry will grow out of the 29 pretty quick.. but if you have the room and resources.. then what ever works best for you..

ps.. welcome to SD

Eddie
01-16-2011, 04:56 AM
I use 20s and 29s

LizStreithorst
01-16-2011, 08:37 AM