PDA

View Full Version : Do plants need QT?

sfdiscus
02-06-2011, 04:02 PM
Hi - I am evaluating buying plants from private hobbyists from Craigslist. Do I need to QT these plants? If this too risky? thx

ericatdallas
02-06-2011, 05:02 PM
I think a lot of people give it a potassium permanganate or bleach bath and that's enough. Some people QT them.

MKD
02-06-2011, 05:03 PM
I'm not an expert. Not sure about qt but for sure you have to dip them in pp or bleach to make sure no snails or eggs. I'm having snail problem right now in none discus tank. Gl

Ps: Eric beat me

GenkiDiscus
02-06-2011, 05:19 PM
MadDiscus, i'm currently have a snail explosion in my tank after adding plants from a few sources. How do you get rid of them without harming fish and water parameters?

dbfzurowski
02-06-2011, 05:40 PM
You can buy "Clear Water" from Jungle sold at pet smart. Active ingredient is pp. I just do a pp bath and in the tank it goes.

ericatdallas
02-06-2011, 05:50 PM
MadDiscus, i'm currently have a snail explosion in my tank after adding plants from a few sources. How do you get rid of them without harming fish and water parameters?

you know, I had a snail infestation a month back. I didn't do anything active to kill them off but I noticed all of a sudden I had a mass die-off of snails. So I looked it up. Apparently when I dosed my tank with potassium nitrate I might have killed them off. I dosed to 10ppm-20ppm in my planted tank. I found a few posts that say snails are very sensitive to nitrate levels. My fish don't seem to care. I do have discus in my planted tank but they don't seem to care about the dosing. The plants are pretty good at absorbing it but the brief spike might be hurting the snail. I also dose with magnesium sulfate and that apparently also inhibits the ability of the snail to hang on the glass.

Just some things to consider especially if you have a planted tank.

That or you could always buy some snail eating fish.

MKD
02-06-2011, 06:46 PM