PDA

View Full Version : Sand color too dark?

rosyrobyn
02-17-2011, 07:12 PM
I've posted this here rather than the beginner section because I'm setting up a tank for some of Dale's f1's (are these still considered wild?).

I dropped by a pool store and bought some pool filter sand. I was a little surprised to see that it is a tan color - not white. Is this going to be too dark? Do F1's still show good coloring with darker substrates? I've also bought a 3D background that is darker than I was expecting.

I thought that discus in general show better with lighter backgrounds and substrates. Is this not the case for wilds/F1's?

hedut
02-17-2011, 07:13 PM
I'm an expert but tan color should be fine :)

Harriett
02-17-2011, 08:54 PM
It's fine!
Harriett

rosyrobyn
02-17-2011, 09:37 PM
Oh thank goodness! I didn't want to get the tank set up only to have to change out the sand because the fish turned dark.

Second Hand Pat
02-17-2011, 09:47 PM
Hey Rosyrobyn, Is BB an option for you? Might be easier to keep clean with all the feedings. I am also getting some of Dale's fry also. What are you getting?

rosyrobyn
02-17-2011, 10:52 PM
Hey Rosyrobyn, Is BB an option for you? Might be easier to keep clean with all the feedings. I am also getting some of Dale's fry also. What are you getting?

Yes, I'm definately going BB until the fry are fully grown adults. I've currently got a 29g BB currently cycling for when the fry are still small. Then into a 75g BB. While the fish are growing out, I'm collecting equipment for a 125g as funds allow.

The 125g is a display tank, originally intended to be a lush planted tank because I've enjoyed doing higher tech plant tanks - CO2, ferts, higher lighting. The idea was to set the planted tank up while the fish grow out, allowing plenty of time for the tank to mature before any fish being introduced.