PDA

View Full Version : Is discus right for me?

htlv22003@yahoo.com
03-07-2011, 12:17 AM
I am new to tropical fish (starting from last Christmas).
40 g tank; 4 dwarf gourami + 8 other small fish, 12 plants... So far, so good.
Water parameters: NH3/NH4+ 0; Nitrite 0; Nitrate less than 10 ppm; pH 7.0; Temp 78F; GH 150 ppm; KH 40 ppm.
WC: 5 g weekly; adding prime to warm tap water (hand-feel the same temp as the tank water); pump circulation/aeration for 20 min; then pumped into fish tank.

I love discus and plan to have some soon. However, after reading this forum about WC, I feel a little nervous. Any comment on these questions is much appreciated.

1. Will pH7.0 and GH 150 ppm be OK for discus?
2. I can take care of the water temperature part. But Will 15% weekly water change be OK. To my understanding, WC is to make sure you remove the fish waste which would be harmful to fish. If that’s the case, will it be OK as long as you can keep the NH3/Nitrite read at 0, regardless of WC frequency? Why a lot of people do WC daily or even twice daily? Is that required or just habit?
3. Many people use aged water. Will prime + tap water be just OK? Anybody has experience?
Thanks in advance.

dadecountyalan
03-07-2011, 12:26 AM
if your new to fish i dont recommend going straight into discus. also wc depend a lot on what size fish your going to be having but i could tell you that 15% for a 40g isnt enough.

and prime with tap water is ok

moon_knight1971
03-07-2011, 12:40 AM
welcome to the forum! I think you're going to have some problems when you get your discus.
1) Tank is too small
2) Temp is too low. You raise it to at least 84 degrees and it will make life hard on your existing fish.
3) Water changes once a week, in a tank that small, is just a setting you up for failure. Discus need pristine water so based on what you are using (40 gal) I would suggest at least 30 % every other day.
4) You need to add a sponge filter.