PDA

View Full Version : Let me know how my setup is

PerFiikT
04-11-2011, 11:27 PM
OK i am going to start a discus tank and just want to know what you guys think. First a little about myself. My names chad im 20 years old. Ive been keeping fish for about 7 years now and am very familiar with planted tanks. I also have a bearded dragon and hes the best and i love taking care of him. Heres what i have for my discus tank.

75 gallon tank.
Fluval 405
2 250watt heaters
water test kit
6500k full spectrum lights for plants( not going crazy cause discus' cant be in too bright of light)
im going to use sand bottom
like i said live plants
no carbon in the filters
digital thermometer
water temp roughly 84-85*
plan on getting 7 discus
im going to cycle the tank for probably 2 months just to keep an eye on water conditions. i will cycle with tetras and maybe a few clown loaches

anything else i should consider?

Eddie
04-12-2011, 01:39 AM
Nice to meet you Chad! Not bad, I'd recommend adults for this tank and skip the loaches. Thats just me. Also, I would not cycle the tank with fish, I would do a fishless cycle. This is for disease prevention. It would suck to have 7 adult discus fall ill and die from a tiny tetra. Plus, you would need about 200-300 of them to match the bio load that 7 adults discus will be needing. ;)

ericatdallas
04-12-2011, 02:27 AM
That's almost exactly like my setup in my planted tank except I also ran a HOB (was a Whisper 60, but I upgraded to an AC110) along with my Fluval 405 and added a sponge pre-filter on the intakes. Not that I don't think a Fluval 405 can't handle it, that's just what I have. The nitrates/nitrites/ammonia are always at zero although I think I need to look into CO2 with my setup.

I haven't done this yet, but I'm considering getting a power head. I find there are a lot of dead spots where debris builds up (especially with the plants). I think this also helps prevent algae with the air flow.