PDA

View Full Version : hello new to site and discus

jeepnleo
04-16-2011, 12:19 PM
hello everyone,
i am new to the site and i am new to discus.

i am a little worried about my tank set up, after reading all the info on this site.
but i am going to cross my fingers

well let me start off by saying a little of my history.
this is long and drawn out so if you must go to my next post to here about my discus.

i have been into aquariums pretty much all my life.
as a kid my dad had a small 30 gallon tank and we woud had our random tetras/neons.

then when i was an adult i was more into amphibs like frogs and newts.
so i set up a 40 gallon long tank that was half water and half land.
i had random small gold fish in there.

i then went back to just a normal fish tank.
i did the tetra thing for awhile.

about 5 years ago i got into chlids. first south american.
i had oscars that made me get a larger tank.
started witha 35 gallon octogon tank.
stepped up to a 50 gallon long
found a great dea on a 75 gallon long.
used the 75 gallon long for about 4 years.
then one of my oscars died he ate to many fish and they got stuck in his mouth.
after that my other oscar would not let any other fish co habitat with it. and a 75 gallon tank with 1 fish isnt that fun.

So the wife and i gave the oscar to the local pet shop.
then we went fish shopping. got about 15 fish total.
about 5 of each kind.
angles
gouramis
tetras
and 1 australian blue lobster.

that lasted a while.
then i am a craiglist *****. i was looking at fish supplies and aquariums.
i found a JUWEL 350 with everything i needed to go salt water.
we were going to make the jump into saltwater.
we did the research and with me being in the military and going on deployments and my wife left to tend to the care we decided we would just keep it freshwater.
so it is a 350liter tank so about 92 gallons.

So we got the JUWEL set up and used water from the 75 gallon to help cycle it quicker.