PDA

View Full Version : Question about new discus

X_factor
04-27-2011, 07:26 PM
I bought a discus last week. It's about 3.5-4 inches long in total length. I'm still learning how to tell which discus to buy and not to buy. Can some of you guys chime in and see if the discus I bought was a good buy or not. It's just for my future reference. I plan to keep the discus and take good care of him regardless. Thanks!

moon_knight1971
04-27-2011, 07:30 PM
Looks a little stunted to me because its eyes look large in comparaison to its body. At 3 - 4 inches you should be able to get nice, rounded discus and some of it's true color should be showing by then as well. Good luck!

johnnathan
04-27-2011, 07:44 PM
check at there what not to buy (http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?46982-What-not-to-buy)

good Luck ..

zchauvin
04-27-2011, 07:45 PM
I see that hes in planted tank and new. Hope your experience goes much better than mine. Bought 15$ stunted fish just to get used to discus then bought a 70$ good looking discus, same size bear in mind. Both died from infections within a week...

X_factor
04-27-2011, 07:45 PM
Thanks for the answer. How about this one here? This one is about 3" in total length or very slightly smaller. To my untrained eye, this one looks better than the one in the OP but the one in the OP is much more active when it comes to feeding time. They both eat well though.

X_factor
04-27-2011, 07:50 PM
I see that hes in planted tank and new. Hope your experience goes much better than mine. Bought 15$ stunted fish just to get used to discus then bought a 70$ good looking discus, same size bear in mind. Both died from infections within a week...

Sorry to hear that. Were your fish eating normally before they died?

X_factor
04-27-2011, 07:54 PM
check at there

good Luck ..