PDA

View Full Version : White Cherry Shrimp?

mmorris
05-20-2011, 03:39 PM
I'm new to raising cherry shrimp, and I thought the white ones were juveniles but now I see lots of babies have lots of color. Someone told me to cull the white ones (ie., start a colony in my discus display tank) but I thought I'd better check in before finding out I culled all the females, or something...

seanyuki
05-20-2011, 03:45 PM
hi Martha.......I got cherry shrimps at home too......try the Mosura products.

here's a good shrimp forum.

http://www.shrimpnow.com/forums/forum.php?

http://www.mosura-intl.com/product.php

hth

mmorris
05-20-2011, 04:53 PM
Thanks for that Francis. Do you get white ones?

seanyuki
05-20-2011, 05:21 PM
Hi Martha......have not got any white ones......my shrimp tank is a 40 gallons tank and the baby shrimplets are red.......next step for me are those CRS how to breed them and grade them lol.

another link for u lah.

http://www.gcshop-sg.com/learn.php

mmorris
05-21-2011, 08:13 AM
Perhaps 'white' wasn't the word to use. Some don't have any - or very little - red on them. I've read that the males are not as colorful, and juvies may not have fully colored up. At the same time, they could be the wild varient, and so should be culled. Has anyone run into them without the red? Cull or no? They're breeding like crazy.

seanyuki
05-21-2011, 08:26 AM
Keep them Martha......males are lighter color and females are dark red.

Hsunami
05-21-2011, 08:47 AM
if they are "white" then they would end up being A+, S, SS, SSS, SSS+ Crystal Red shrimp. THe higher the grade the more white they will have in them. If you do have cherry shrimp there should be zero white. Its more (Males) Dull Red/Transparent (Females) Darker Red/Less Transparent. (Won't be full body red, u'll end up seeing spots of transparent unless you get the FIRE RED Cherries).