PDA

View Full Version : frogbit

zchauvin
06-02-2011, 11:26 AM
Will it grow under marineland double led lights? Been wanting to put some in my 75g but don't want bright lights. Any suggestions/ideas?

zchauvin
06-02-2011, 05:53 PM
Anyone?

lizziotti
06-02-2011, 07:43 PM
Its growing fine in mine and I have the same lights.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk

zchauvin
06-02-2011, 07:57 PM
Awesome thanks

farebox
06-06-2011, 12:30 AM
Awesome thanks

Just put some in my 125GA tank/low lights, so far so good.
farebox

Darrell Ward
06-06-2011, 03:08 AM
I have found out recently that there are several varieties of frogbit that originated in different places. Some seem to do fine under lower lighting, but some will start to yellow and slowly melt away. It's a crap shoot, because they all look the same, and generally only go by the name frogbit, or amazon frogbit.

zchauvin
06-06-2011, 08:48 PM
ehh, and im not experienced enough to know. I dont want to buy a bunch and then they die in a week...

Darrell Ward
06-06-2011, 09:24 PM
You could use duckweed instead. Much smaller leaves, but looks natural, and is practically indestructible. I've had it spread in tanks with only a single florescent bulb.

zchauvin
06-06-2011, 09:40 PM
Put a whole bag in there last week, its all gone... idk where but its just gone. Also the roots of frogbit is so appealing to me.

Discus-n00b
06-06-2011, 11:06 PM
I had the same issue with my frogbit, just disappeared. The only 2 conclusions I could come to is either my Festivums had a snack or the current on top of the water was to strong for it. Otherwise I have no idea.

zchauvin
06-06-2011, 11:13 PM
I had the same issue with my frogbit, just disappeared. The only 2 conclusions I could come to is either my Festivums had a snack or the current on top of the water was to strong for it. Otherwise I have no idea.

Duckweed or frogbit Matt?

Darrell Ward
06-06-2011, 11:22 PM