PDA

View Full Version : How to tell the quality of the discus?

fishes4ever
07-28-2011, 12:12 AM
hi guys, Im new to discus. If I want to buy discus, what kind of discus do you think i should get? How do i know the value and the quality of the discus? Thanks in advance.

yim11
07-28-2011, 12:43 AM
It's good you ask before you buy. Here are some links that will help:

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?33300-Selecting-Discus

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?46982-What-not-to-buy

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?27180-Beginners-Information-Index

Jhhnn
07-30-2011, 10:15 AM
hi guys, Im new to discus. If I want to buy discus, what kind of discus do you think i should get? How do i know the value and the quality of the discus? Thanks in advance.

The easy answer is to buy a group of at least 6 from one of our sponsors- all the same variety, the largest fish you can reasonably afford. You'll get better value with the less expensive strains- cobalts, turqs, snakeskins, pigeons, blue diamonds, some of the red varieties. For hobbyists, quality is healthy vibrant stock with good conformation. For inexperienced buyers, that's hard to figure out on your own, but you don't need to do that- you can benefit from the experience of others on the forum.

I got lucky when I found Simply, and doubly so when I chose to buy from Kenny Cheung. If he's not the best supplier out there, he's certainly among them, judging from my own experience and from the praise of others. I can't say enough nice things about Kenny and the discus he's provided to me.

Chipper jones
07-30-2011, 10:45 AM
You are Sooooooooooooo right! Buy adult fish from Kenny, he's having a sale right now.Bill at empire discus,he just delivered the most awesome cobalt 4-5"and he has more.Hans has adult fish as well, just ordered a 6" FIRE RED.If you have a good system these fish will be around for years and years so buy quality adult from a good source if you can!

strawberryblonde