PDA

View Full Version : new to discus

MPETERS
08-18-2011, 02:28 PM
Hi all,

I am new to Discus but have had both fresh and saltwater fish over the past 30 years. I am planning on setting up a 240 gal Discus tank and have been doing a ton of reading. I have many questions but will start with one about water hardness. I live in Apache Junction, AZ. and have a 600' deep well. As you would expect the water is very hard, over 180 mg/l using an API 5 in 1 test strip. I have been looking into options to soften the water, including a water softener, RO and/or the use of peat. I am worried about the sodium the water softener will add to the water, also RO would have a large amount of waste water. Does anyone have a simular problem or can offer some advise.

Again this is the first of many questions, thanks in advanced for the help

Mike Peters

TURQ64
08-18-2011, 02:59 PM
Mike, In 2001-2, I lived in AJ whie doing rigging for the rebuild of the generators at the dams for SRP..At that time, we had water reports showing a lot of nasty chemicals leached in to the ground water from too many years of meth labs in the desert.don't know if that applies to your deep well,but...I'd go with an RO, and figure a large collection/recycling method for the reject...I have hard, alkaline water, so it's what we do..My reject runs the laundry and yardwork.(we have larger collection containers for waste than we do product water)...something to consider..Otherwise, the usual aged water and chemical conditioners and a similar aging container..Gary

MPETERS
08-18-2011, 03:18 PM
Hi Gary,

I go up the trail to the dam a lot just because it is so beautiful. All that worked on the dam did one heck of a job, Thanks.