PDA

View Full Version : Need help from the CO2 experts for plants.

Tropical Haven
10-03-2011, 02:02 PM
Hi everyone sorry I haven't posted forever but been super busy with my son and his sports so I have very limited time for the next year and a half then will be back on here full time again. lol

Here is my question, I am just getting into CO2 for plants and I am going to be using my own DIY CO2. I will have a bubble counter as well as a diffuser. Every where I read they say you want 1 bubble per second which is fine. The question I have is how do you know how many bubbles per second based on the size tank you have? I am sure that it is different with a 10 gallon tank than a 55 gal tank. So is there a dummy way of knowing this for a first timer like me? Any kind of help would be appreciated.

Larry Bugg
10-03-2011, 03:44 PM
I like using a drop checker like these.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/items/co2%20drop%20checker?_dmd=1&_sop=12&rvr_id=271152848544&clk_rvr_id=271152848544&MT_ID=70&crlp=1810169013_9415&tt_encode=raw&geo_id=1&keyword=co2+drop+checker&gclid=CLX2z7iizasCFYEj7Aod1iiQ0A&adgroup_id=796911753

The drop checker had a 4dkh regent in it. The color of the regent will change depending on how much Co2 you have in the water. Blue is too little green is good and yellow is too much. I use the Cal Aqua Labs one for 19.99 and it includes the regent.

fiftymeatballs
10-03-2011, 11:46 PM
Definitely get the drop checker and pre made 4DKH solution. You can get that for 5 bucks on ebay. I use it for mine. Making your own 4dkh solution requires a scale and stuff I didn't have. Would cost me more to make it then just buy pre made.

What size tank do you have? You probably don't have to worry about gassing your fish with DIY from a 2liter bottle, I am assuming you have a fairly large tank if you keep discus?

I used a 2 liter soda bottle for my 60 gallon tank and probably could have used 1 more bottle for sufficient amounts. You can't really