Darrell Ward
10-18-2011, 02:02 AM
Ouch! That ain't good!

Second Hand Pat
10-18-2011, 02:55 AM
Especially with 12 hour days

Disgirl
10-18-2011, 07:43 AM
Hi Pat, are you able to tell us what type of work you do? If not, I understand. Hope you are asleep as I write this!
Barb:)

Second Hand Pat
10-18-2011, 09:15 AM
Hi Barb, well almost asleep lol. I work for a defense contractor which builds training and logistics systems for our armed forces. Specifically I'm working on Automated Test Equipment (ATE) which is a rack in instruments used to test specialized components on military vehicles. The components we are testing are navigation and targeting pods which attach to the bottom of aircraft (F15, F16, etc). Confused yet lol.

I'm a software engineer and taking one of these ATE systems and updating the computer which attaches to the instrument rack. By update I mean updating the operating system from an old Unix based system (UP-UX) to Windows 7. When you update the operating system you have to update the interfaces which are used to talk to the instruments. This instrument rack is about 20 years old and there is only one at my work location.

We are running up on the delivery date for this system. So my project manager has split the team into two shifts. Idea is to get more time on the system to help complete testing in a more timely fashion. Bored yet.

Personally I rather not work with hardware, it is rather boring and not my area of expertise but it is a job so must be grateful for that (I guess). Simply put I write software which runs on a computer.

MKD
10-18-2011, 09:43 AM
Wow Pat, long day at work and youre still up? I work in mortgage industry and have those long day often but don't get pay for OT. It's ok, I'm thankful I still have job in this kind of economy and now a day there is no loyalty, they can let you go any time (work at will).
No work -> no discus :)

Second Hand Pat
10-18-2011, 09:54 AM