PDA

View Full Version : A couple newbie questions

bearrock
10-19-2011, 04:37 PM
I am new to discus (three days new) and seem to have already begin running into problems. I bought 3 discus from a local breeder 3 days ago they are ~ 3.5-4". The breeder was swearing that the PH could not be any greater than 6.5. Before the fish arrived I did everything I could to get the PH down but could not get it is decrease at all with API 6.5. The PH is 7.4.... Hard water? After further reading it seems that the PH will be ok as long as it is not fluctuating but I have yet to get any of the three to eat anything. They will suck in a blood worms but then they spit it right back out. I raised the temp to form 81 to 84 in hopes that would help.

None of them appear to be stressed after the first day they came out of hiding and swim around the tank regularly. I have been doing daily 50% water changes to get out all the un-eaten food and keep the water conditions optimal but I am unsure where to go from here. Should I keep trying to feed them or wait a day or two and try again?

frinklinduds
10-19-2011, 06:09 PM
alright this same thing happened to me at first, try live food they cant resist it. also i ahve come to learn that store brought frozen food is not the best for discus and might not appear much to them. try goign to the food/nutrition section on the site for some recipes for some discus food. also give them time to settle in, and do not mess with the ph, keep it steady and your good to go ( my ph is at 7.6 and mine seem to be thriving well ). keep temperature around 86.

you also could try not feeding them a day or so and they will most likely eat.... i think of it this way, if you don't eat for a a day or so and someone gives you any type of food you are going to eat it and so will they

hope this helps, in my humble opinion try getting them some live food

judy
10-19-2011, 06:37 PM