PDA

View Full Version : pH of ro/di and tap water blend

kss2801
10-26-2011, 12:15 PM
Hello,
I have set up a 40 gallon breeder tank and have used about 75% rodi to 25% tap water, this gives a hardness of about 60ppm. I just tested pH, I got 5.5 for my stored RO and 7.5 in my tank, with the blend. I want to lower the pH, do I need to use something like pH down or use more RO? I know more RO would lower the buffering capacity of the water, but does it also lower pH long term? Or does the pH of what ever you mix it with dominate, because of the lack of buffering capacity?

ericatdallas
10-26-2011, 01:18 PM
Lack of buffering capacity means the pH will swing more. I think you're right about it going lower, but there is a possibility it could go higher. It really just depends on what the "contaminants" are in your tank.

I'm not an expert on water issues by any stretch of the imagination, but I follow the school of thought of "don't mess with a good thing" unless you know why you're doing it.

What is the reason you want a lower pH? My water out of the tap is around 7 and I don't mess with it.

Some people in the saltwater tank community like to use citric acid as both a dechlorinator and a pH down, but there are some risks. To do it right, you do need to add some "buffers" to make sure it's a controlled adjustment.

kss2801
10-26-2011, 01:25 PM
I want to lower it to get my fish to breed. I have had them in the tank more than 1 month now and they have shown no interest in breeding. They are a known breeding pair. They are very healthy and eat great and are active. I have the temp set to about 86F. I'm feeding beef heart, bloodworms, tetra bits and nutrafin max. I don't know what else other than pH that is a bit off. Is there any thing else I can try?

ericatdallas
10-26-2011, 01:34 PM
I'm going to have to punt there because I haven't done any discus breeding yet.

From hanging out in the forums though, if you're messing with parameters too much, that could stress them.