PDA

View Full Version : Flourish Excel dangerous?

DanMan
11-04-2011, 09:47 AM
Does anyone else use Excel in their planted tanks? I've been using it strictly for algae control for several months now without issue until yesterday.
I only use it once a week at most.

So yesterday I did a 75% WC added Excel at 1.5 times the recommended dose ( been doing this for a while to control algae - its supposedly fish safe and i've never had any issues before). A few hours later I notice that ALL of the fish are losing their slime coats and a after a couple more hours 2 of the 5 are laying on their sides. I initially thought maybe the micro-bubbles from the WC had irritated them causing the slime coat loss.

I did another 75% WC and there was almost immediate improvement. This morning, all seems to be back to normal.

Has anyone else ever had a problem with Excel? Obviously I won't OD the tank with it again - but now i'm wondering if I should be using it at all.

DiscusLoverJeff
11-04-2011, 09:59 AM
Have you tested your water before adding to the tank? Maybe there was a change there? I use Excel as well and never had any issues. You may of just had a bad batch of water.

DanMan
11-04-2011, 10:15 AM
I'm using declor'd tap. I don't test it first.

DiscusOnly
11-04-2011, 11:43 AM
Dan,

My only problem with Excel has to do with melting my vals. Never a problem with Excel and fish. I've actually soaked equipments in excel in the past to remove BBA and it never affected the fish. I would be more incline to think that something changed in you tap water.

Van

judy
11-04-2011, 11:47 AM
I'm wondering if you forgot to dechlor the water. Sounds like that kind of reaction to me. I use Excel religiously and have never had a problem, not even with my vals, whihc I know a lot of people have reported problems with...

DanMan
11-04-2011, 02:22 PM