PDA

View Full Version : Water Test Kit/Equipment Recommendations

YSS
01-28-2012, 11:19 AM
Getting tired of using API test kits. What do the pros here use to test water for nitrate, pH, and hardness/TDS? Thanks!

DiscusLoverJeff
01-28-2012, 11:42 AM
Here is what I use to test ph tds and ec. I have to replace my probe after 1 year. I take care of the equipment but it takes a long time to read the ph now after 1 year. The company said it was normal, I disagree but no other on the market that had better reviews.

http://www.marinedepot.com/Hanna_Instruments_Combo_pH_EC_TDS_Temperature_Test er_with_Low_Range_EC_Multi_Item_Monitors_Controlle rs_for_Saltwater_Aquariums-Hanna_Instruments-HN1151-FITEMOMI-vi.html

Jhhnn
02-16-2012, 11:58 PM
Not that I'm a pro, but I use & like the Seachem nitrite/nitrate kits, and particularly their ammonia kit. The latter is a must for anybody who uses Prime or Safe...

YSS
02-18-2012, 02:44 PM
Not that I'm a pro, but I use & like the Seachem nitrite/nitrate kits, and particularly their ammonia kit. The latter is a must for anybody who uses Prime or Safe...

Is it liquid based test kit?

Jhhnn
02-21-2012, 09:28 AM
Is it liquid based test kit?

Yes, but there's no shaking in a vial. Seachem uses a system having a small dimpled tray. Instructions for their various kits are here-

http://www.seachem.com/Library/Downloads.html

I use an inexpensive electronic kitchen timer to make it easy & consistent...

jimg
02-21-2012, 11:15 AM
for ec/tds temp I use hanna HI98311, for gh/kh I use nutrafin, for ph mw102 an sm102 and an sms122 or api drops.
all ph meters are very slow, been through that issue many times with many meters/probes.
In my low ph tanks I leave the probes in all the time in other tanks with higher ph I usually don't check ph I rely on ec but when I go awhile without a wc I will check ph with api drops, much faster

YSS
02-21-2012, 01:37 PM