PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong?

IanGreer
03-10-2012, 12:24 AM
Hi everyone. This is my first post on SD, but I have been reading threads on here for a good part of this year. I finally decided to make an account because I have come across a problem and I don't know what to do. My last aquarium was over eight years ago, so although I remember most of the basics, I would consider myself a newbie.

I apologize in advance for this very long post. My previous fish were all tetras, which I have found require much, much less care than discus do. I am covering every aspect of my tank I can think of, because I am not an expert, and I only hope that one of you experts here will be able to isolate my problem. Thanks in advance :)

I have a 20-gallon tank with two 3.5-inch (roughly) pigeon blood discus, and a small pleco to clean up algae. Since I put the discus in a couple of months ago, I have had various problems with my fish and equipment. I recently upgraded my filter to a Tetra Whisper 20 because my last filter seemed to not move enough water, and my tank grew cloudy and unappealing. With the new filter installed, I have not had any problems with cloudy water. I also have a live ammonia monitor inside my tank, and although it usually detects no harmful ammonia in the water, it has been turning more and more green the past several days. I am planning to remove the gravel in my tank in the next couple weeks, because I have a feeling that it is trapping tons of food and waste which is causing my ammonia levels to rise. I will also remove my plastic plants and just keep a rock in there for them to hide behind. According to the meter, I would estimate my levels of "dangerous" ammonia at around 0.05-0.10 ppm. I have doing 20% water changes every other day and using various chemicals I will list below. Every chemical I have tells me to add 5mL per 10 gallons in my tank, so I add 10mL each time. I'm hoping this is what I should be doing?