PDA

View Full Version : "Queries regarding my first fish tank, preferably a discus tank"?

bullzi
03-26-2012, 03:30 AM
Hi all,

I am new to the forum, I have gone through some stickies here and they are really really helpful. I am going to have a new tank soon and have some queries regarding it:

1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

Ans:- I am totally new in fishkeeping, I have no previous experience.

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

Ans:- I have gone through some stickies on beginners guide, I am continuing reading more threads, I have read some threads in other forums, I have ordered Baro', pet manual for Discus.

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

Ans:- My tank is a new one, 48 * 20 * 20 - it will be a display tank.

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.

Ans:- I am not sure about it, but I have read BB is the easiest way to go.

5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.

Ans:- I am totally confused here. I know people who keep discus change 30-40% water every other day/3 days per week. I also know people who does 200% each day.

6) Describe the type of filtration planned/used for the tank; sponge, HOB and/or sump. Also include the other equipment you are, or will be, using in your tank, e.g. heater, lighting, etc.

Ans:- I have bought Eheim 2217 filter, will also add a sponge filter additionally.