PDA

View Full Version : Hamburg Mattenfilter

rubinsteinnyc
04-15-2012, 11:47 PM
Has anyone tried one of these? Is it practical? Looks like a good way to save up some money and surface area is better than on a circular sponge

stumbled upon it watching this :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=km0IgEVxe6E&feature=related

illumnae
04-16-2012, 03:19 AM
I've used it before in a pleco tank set up. Don't know how to measure filtration, but it kept my water parameters as it should

Emilio
04-17-2012, 02:50 PM
It's the best sponge filter or even the best filter. I have been using this for 5 years and I am very happy with it.

bleublaze55
04-17-2012, 02:54 PM
Ive seen a couple breeders use that same method. It seems to work very well. If i didn't want a planted tank i would use that inside my big tank as well.

Moon
04-17-2012, 04:02 PM
I converted all my 15 discus tanks and five pleco tanks to mattenfilter. Works great, less maintenance and takes up less space.

rubinsteinnyc
04-19-2012, 12:45 AM
good stuff guys! anyone else? do you use just an airstone or a powerhead? do you see the dirt on the WHOLE surface of the foam?

rubinsteinnyc
04-19-2012, 12:48 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RitkNdxQjko

Chicago Discus
04-19-2012, 01:14 AM
how do you clean it?

rubinsteinnyc
04-19-2012, 08:35 AM
i suppose ( just my wild guess) due to the relatively large surface of the foam as opposed to a normal sponge filter you clean it very scarcely and when you do, you just clean it mechanically, rinse it and squeeze it out in drained water from your tank and voila! I am really liking it, the day i set up my discus tank, i will set this filter up with two small powerheads.

joanstone
04-19-2012, 08:50 AM
http://www.janrigter.nl/mattenfilter/
http://www.swisstropicals.com/Poret%20Filter%20Foam%20Q&A.html

Emilio
04-19-2012, 09:37 AM
I will say it again...the "BEST" filter! Here is a video of my tank with a Hamburg Mattenfilter. Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKhCIkC4xVg