PDA

View Full Version : Beginner here! Any suggestions?

son303
04-25-2012, 10:29 PM
I've been reading a lot of info on this forum. I have a 150 gallon tank. It's part mostly hard scape with some easy to take of plants. I chose java fern and java moss. I chose gouramis to start my cycle from the advice from my lfs. I've been reading on here that people like using the fish less method to cycle. Did I start off on the wrong foot?

Northwoods Discus
04-25-2012, 10:35 PM
The reason people suggest fishless cycle is using a LFS fish to cycle will bring in disease. Then you put in your discus.

son303
04-25-2012, 11:59 PM
Oh i see. Hopefully when my tank is fully cycled. My discus juvies don't catch a disease. =\

Orange Crush
04-26-2012, 01:35 AM
If you can move the gourami and plants into a different tank you can bleach everything in the 150 (keep filter in tank and running as well as everything else), drain the tank, refill, drain, refill, drain, refill, add dechlor then do a fishless cycle. Discus are way to expensive to play russian roulette with.

son303
04-26-2012, 01:40 AM
If you can move the gourami and plants into a different tank you can bleach everything in the 150 (keep filter in tank and running as well as everything else), drain the tank, refill, drain, refill, drain, refill, add dechlor then do a fishless cycle. Discus are way to expensive to play russian roulette with.

If i do this... I'm looking at another 4-6 weeks before its cycled and ready for the discus fish?

Orange Crush
04-26-2012, 03:03 AM
If i do this... I'm looking at another 4-6 weeks before its cycled and ready for the discus fish?
Yes, but it is worth it. I spent almost $500 on my 6 discus and for me personally, I would not do something that could potentially kill them. Discus are not cheap fish that can be bought at a LFS like gouramis.

Teshi
04-26-2012, 09:42 AM