PDA

View Full Version : How many/for how long?

Niko3434
05-13-2012, 12:31 PM
Hey guys,

First time posting here (although I read the threads here quite often :D) and I'm just looking for some advice from the pros on discus.

So basically, I've been keeping freshwater fish for the past 6 years and so last August I went and tried my hand at discus. I bought 5 red turquoise and set them up in a 55 gal that'd been cycling for a month. The fish were actually fine for two months, I fed them well; they started to grow. But then due to circumstances out of my hands, I had to get rid of the 55 gal. And so I gave my discus away to a friend of mine who has been taking great care of them (they're still alive, and they have grrooooowwwwn!).

Anyway, I currently have a 30 gal set up and running. Now I'm obviously going to end up needing a tank bigger than 30 gallons for discus, but the problem is that I won't be able to get a 50 gal until July. I'd like to get the discus now (or within the next couple of weeks) that way I can cycle the 50 gallon and move them there before school starts.

Also, I might have to get a 46 gallon instead of a 50 (due to space limitations). This would obviously not be ideal but I don't think it would be terribly bad.

I was planning on doing a bare bottom like last time just for simplicity and ease.

Okay back to the real question: how many discus (I'd be buying them as juveniles like 2.5 inches) could I keep in the 30 gal and for how long?

Thanks,
Niko

Bill63SG
05-13-2012, 04:45 PM
IMO,you could do 5-7 with daily wc's,if you are getting the bigger tank in July.30 is probably preferable right now,easier wc's.

Niko3434
05-13-2012, 07:07 PM
Okay but what if I was just gonna do maybe twice a week 30% changes?

Bill63SG
05-13-2012, 07:12 PM
Read up on here.For fry/young'uns,we don't even argue about the daily wc's,only over how much.30% daily,IMO,isn't enough.50-75 or more is the norm.

Griggsy
05-13-2012, 10:04 PM