PDA

View Full Version : Confused about planted vs. non-planted tank

kim68048
07-01-2012, 02:24 AM
Hi!
I am new to your forum and am looking forward to learning all I need to know about discus fish : ) I recently bought a 55 gallon tank and would like to have a few discus. Currently doing my research via your forum, etc. I have had freshwater tanks in the past but never with discus. I'm getting pretty confused with the whole planted vs. non-planted, bare-bottom tank vs. sand and so on. It seems there are many theories and opinions on what is best. I am new to live plants but would really like some in my tank. I started with a few live plants in a 10 gallon betta tank about a month ago. I am seeing conflicting info about trying to start out with discus being new to both the discus and live plants. I don't want to jump in too fast with either the fish or plants but really don't care for the bare look of no sand and no plants. Am thinking of going with a couple/few live plants to start with??? I have attached a picture of the tank I bought. It was used and came with the wood in it.....actually two connected pieces but I am thinking of removing the top piece.....it is a bit odd looking but I think I could make it look nice. Just looking for some input and advice while I continue my research : )
Thanks!
Kim

Poco
07-01-2012, 02:48 AM
Kim,

Welcome to SD.

I will suggest to keep it simple to begin with, barebottom and no plants as it will be easier for you to maintain it. If you really want to have plants you go with potted plants in BB tank.

Research before you get your fish. You can start with the sticky below.

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/forumdisplay.php?48-Discus-Basics-for-Beginners

strawberryblonde
07-01-2012, 03:01 AM
Hi Kim and welcome!