PDA

View Full Version : Beginner with a 75 gallon.

jesseter
07-22-2012, 12:56 PM
Hello everyone. It's nice to be here. So first off I am new to discus. I have been keeping fancy goldfish for about 10 years now. So I am not a complete newbie with fish. That being said I have a 75 gallon tank that I would like to make into a planted discus community tank. I was hoping for some feedback on stock levels of other fish and see what the pros had thoughts on. First off I was going to get some manazita driftwood for the tank. Then I was going to put a few plants in it(not sure what kind) and gradually add more. I was thinking of locating the plants in the back or keeping potted and having a mostly bare bottom tank. As for fish I am thinking of getting 5-6 two inch juvie discus. I was going to throw maybe 4 or 5 bushy nose plecos in and about 5 or 6 cory cats. I also like the german blue rams and the apistos but am not sure how many would be going in. Would that be too many fish ? I have a eheim 2213 filter(spray bar), fluval 405 filter(with a coralife 9W UV sterilizer) and a emporer 400 HOB filter going on. Is this going to be to much filtration or too turbulent for the discus. I was also wondering with this being my first attempt should I spend a large amount on specimens that may not make it due to my being a first time discus owner? Also is there a trusted place you all go for your plants?Any info or possible set ups similar to this are very much appreciated!! Thanks so much!! Looking forward to being part of the community!!

Regards,
Jesse

P.S. The tank has not been cycled yet. I am probably going to start that this upcoming week.

Poco
07-22-2012, 01:12 PM
Welcome to SD!