PDA

View Full Version : Total Eradication of Gill Flukes and Internal Flagellates/worms possible ?

FihsLove
09-11-2012, 05:02 AM
Hi ,
I am a newbie here, but I have been keeping ornamental fish all my life. Recently I am back into the majestic wild discus fish, and it has stressed me quite a bit compared to my other fishes..

I would like to ask here if it is ever possible to totally eliminate gill flukes and internal flagellates / worms in an aquarium of discus fish once and for all with proper medication like prazi and metro etc? If the answer is yes, then theoretically these flukes and flagellates should not recur once I have medicated the whole tank..assuming no new fish and only flakes/pellet food is used. But in practical, just when I thought I can sit back and enjoyed my tank after medication, there will be 1 discus turning dark, hiding away, not eating, breathing heavily.. and I need to medicate the whole tank again cos other fish might be infected too.. I medicate my display tank in the hope to totally eradicate the flukes and flagellates but it seems an impossible mission..

I would like to hear your opinion.

Thanks

Eddie
09-11-2012, 08:00 AM
Well, you can try really hard to eradicate flukes but once you've got them, you will surely have them again in my opinion. It will take some strategic treatment methods to eliminate all of them. Some people treat the fish in one tank and then transfer the fish to another tank that has been sterilized and continue treating until the life-cycle of the flukes have ended.

For the flagellates, similar issues, you will need to treat all of the fish and repeat to make sure they are all gone.

There will be lots of scope work involved so it will take time. In my opinion, you won't eradicate either of the 2 by treating in a display tank.

bogia99
09-11-2012, 01:45 PM
it is possible if we can understand the Gill Fluke abit more of its life cycle. Feel free to add to the list.