AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: water changes for discus

Registered Member

Default water changes for discus

hey guys im kind of new to discus keeping, my breeder friend gave me 6 new discus and i have them now in my 55g 4 ft tank, they seem to be doing fine ive had them almost a week. Just wondering atm i am doing a weekly 25% water change and every second day leading up to the weekly i am doing a 10% water change. Does this seem a good amount?

Just to let everyone know i have 7 dwarf cichlids in there as well as a black knife ghost fish, 2 marble angels, 2 dwarf gouramis and a small silver shark. All of the fish are coesisting quite peacfully atm.

Real Name
    Mauro

Default Re: water changes for discus

What is the size of your discus? The smaller they are, more WCs are required. What is your filtration? Your tank is overpopulated. I suggest getting rid of most tankmates, especially the black knife ghost (nocturnal fish that will disturb the discus at night and can get too agressive for discus during feeding) and the angels.

Registered Member

i have a 800litre per hour fluval 210 and a 1200l/ph hour generic brand filtration. the discus dont look stressed but you think i should get rid of my angels and black knife? they are 2.5 inches to 3 inches top to bottom fin? what about my dwarf cichlids are they ok?

Real Name
    Mauro

Quote Originally Posted by mecasadys View Post
    i have a 800litre per hour fluval 210 and a 1200l/ph hour generic brand filtration. the discus dont look stressed but you think i should get rid of my angels and black knife? they are 2.5 inches to 3 inches top to bottom fin? what about my dwarf cichlids are they ok?