AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Discus are flashing

Registered Member

Default Discus are flashing

Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish/when and how they started

They started probably about a month or two ago flashing on the branches in the tank. I see them do it maybe one a day. I am fairly new to discus just starting in october of 2012.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/ white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds)

The only symptoms are are flashing and it looked like the poop of one was white at the start and then turned brown as it came out. One of them also looks a little bit pinched in the middle of the body and looks like it could be getting a little bit thinner (not 100% sure though). They still look pretty healthy and eat like crazy.

3. What medications/ treatments that you have already tried and results. Include dosages and duration of treatment.

I have done 2 treatments of prazipro and tried soaking the food in metro for about half hour before feeding but i'm not sure if they actually got any in them as it doesn't dissolve in water.

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and age, number and size of fish

The tank is a 90gal and is about 7 months old. It has 2 discus, about 20 tetras, 3 dwarf cichlids, 3 cory cats, 3 clown loaches, and two bristlenose plecs. nothing is fully grown yet.

5. Water change regime/ how long has tank been running/ bare bottom or gravel/ do you age your water?

I do water changes every 4-5 days. I know that every day is better for growing out discus but its harder to keep it balanced by doing that. The tank is also moderately planted with a mix of eco complete and gravel. The tank has been running for about 7 months and I don't age my water.

6 Parameters and water source;

- temp 84

- ph 7

- ammonia reading 0