AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2013 - May Spotlight Member John_Nicholson

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Default 2013 - May Spotlight Member John_Nicholson

Our May 2013 spotlight member is John Nicholson...

Thank you so much for your participation John!

Q - Please tell us all a little about yourself, what makes You tick? Single, married, attached? What do you do for a living? Other hobbies? Any significant non-discus achievements you want to brag about?

A – Married for more than ½ my life. ( 26 years ). I have a degree from Texas A&M University in Agricultural Economics, but somehow I ended up as a programmer. I have worked for the same computer company for over 20 years. We provide Unix ( old servers ) and Linux business systems for farm implement dealerships primarily. We have over 500 programs and millions of lines of code. I routinely work on programs that have C code, HTML, java script , and json all together. I have more hobbies than I can list. Some of the biggest are riding horses, deer hunting, and the UFC ( huge fan ).

Q - How did you get into discus? Where was the first discus you saw? How long had you been into fish first?

A – I got my first fish 40 years ago at age 7. Not sure when I saw or got my first discus, but it has been a while. Even at a young age I seemed to have the knack of getting fish to breed. I made a lot of money in high school breeding and selling fish.

Q - What strains are you the most happy with? Which do you think need some work? Are you working on anything new and exciting now? What strain/s do you like best, personally?