AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why so many water changes with Discus?

Default Why so many water changes with Discus?

Hey guys,

I'm new to keeping discus but not to aquariums in general. Over the years I have kept multiple freshwater aquariums and more recently been into saltwater/reef aquariums. At this time i'm in the process of setting up a 70 gallon aquarium with 30 gallon sump for some discus.

After doing some reading on general maintenance patterns with these fish, it seems water changes are done much more frequently than many species. I realize these fish require high quality water conditions in order to grow and strive but it just seems overkill for someone to be doing 50% WC every day.

The general norm when keeping reef tanks is 10-15% WC once a week, this seems much more feasible to me. I dont see why this isn't possible with discus as keeping healthy SPS coral is among the toughest tasks in the aquatic hobby. Alot of people seem to look past the importance of having intricate filter systems that help maintain the water quality without having to change out 100% of the water every week. I have read many posts where a simple sponge filter is used and the person is changing out 50% of the water everyday. To me this seems like a case where the filter used is not adequate and you are not even letting the waste in the aquarium go through the nitrogen process.

Once my aquarium is up and running I plan on trying out Nitra-Guard bio cubes in the freshwater world to control phosphates and nitrates. For those of you who aren't familiar here is a write up on them.

http://reefbuilders.com/2012/09/27/n...#ixzz27mymtyeP