ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Im new to discus and loving them

Red face Im new to discus and loving them

I have 2 80mm red turq discus in a 2 foot planted tank.they were very shy in the begining but have warmed up to me in the last week.they used to investigate me at feeding time but kept their distance.then while feeding them blood worms this morning the one started nibling the food out my hand and eventually grabbed the whole block and ran off with it.they also follow me up and down the glass when im walking past.Discus really are the best fish ever

How do you tell which discus are juviniles and which are grownups.I was told they are adults at around 150mm.Is this true?
    Last edited by Quintin; 08-23-2013 at 10:42 AM.

Default Re: Im new to discus and loving them

Are you planning on getting more discus? 2 discus in one tank won't work out very well with the pecking order. It'll only chase around that fish and it would get really stressed out. Discus are considered adults around 127mm. It should be pretty easy to tell when they're that big unless they're stunted. How many water changes are you doing? What is your feeding schedule?
    Nothing will work unless you do. ~John Wooden
    Caleb

Registered Member strawberryblonde's Avatar

Actually, 150mm is closer to the correct size for an adult discus, though many will grow even larger than that if they are given a proper environment and a good feeding schedule. Discus can grow for a full 2 years.

Since you only have 2 of them, they are fine in the 20 gallon tank for now. If you decide to add more, and they will do better with 5-6 of them in a group, then you will need a larger tank. You could put them into a 50g (about 180 litres) tank to grow them out if there are 5-6 of them. 200 litres would be even better since they'd be able to stay in that tank even as adults.

For the best growth and health of your new discus you'll want to do the following: