ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fishless Cycle Stalled?

Registered Member

Default Fishless Cycle Stalled?

I'm doing a fishless cycle. The last time I cycled a tank was about 20 years ago, and I did a fish in cycle in saltwater. So this is my first time doing a fishless cycle.

I started the cycle on Aug 25, so today makes 13 days into the cycle. I added ammonia using Ace Hardware's Ammonia 10%. I added 5 mls and that gave me a reading of ammonia 2 PPM. I then added 5 mls more, and it wound up at 4PPM. I thought that was close enough to 5 so I stopped there. The water started to become cloudy about a day or two later, and has been cloudy ever since. In fact it may even be getting more cloudy as the days go on. It's though to tell though. The tank is 4ft long, and you can barely see to the other end.

My readings have pretty much been the same since I started. Ph is hovering around 8.2-8.4. Ammonia started off at 4 PPm, and it's pretty much still there. The green in the test tube using API's test kit might be a touch lighter now, but it's hard to tell. If its a bit lighter, it's not much. The nitrites are zero, the nitrates are zero my temp has been 85F and my TDS has been in the high 470's.

Are these normal values for day 13, or should I have seen something happening by now? Has the tank stalled?

Tanks in advance for your help.

Default Re: Fishless Cycle Stalled?