ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Raising juvies in planted tank

Registered Member

Question How to raise juvies

Hi all,

I have 100 gallon planted tank, ive set up about four month ago, was saving it for adult discus. Have 3 corys sterbai and 8 cherry barbs.

For various reasons i am unable to get adult discus in my country, we dont have breeders here. I have ordered six 5-6 centimeters(2.3 inch) discus from a breeder in Istanbul, Turkey. My friend is hopefully bringing them to me sometime next week.

I talked with the breeder about water params, quality of fish, food, etc.. Seems ok, he uses tap water, params are similar to my location.

I was going to order biger fish from him, but he talked me in trying smaller fish and raise it on my own,since ididnt want to spend much money on adult fish, i am new to discus btw.. He said that since i am experienced in hobby with other fish, raising juvies discus wouldnt be a problem.. I told him all i have available nowis my 100 gallon planted tank, he said it wouldnt be a problem as long as i changed water regularly and fed them properly..

What do you say? Although that particular breeder told me i would be fine, i am scared since i read too many horrible things on this forum regarding no-nos for a planted tank.

Should iimmediately buy and setup another bare bottom tank just for juvies, or should i carry on with my planted tank?

For those interested thisis his website : discus.gen.tr. maybe you could look at his breeded fish there and tell me if they look ok.

If you suggest i must go with a new bb tank, what size should i get to grow out 6 juvies, and what be my routine there?

Thanks, appreciate your help.
    Last edited by mmdiscus1; 10-13-2013 at 03:40 PM.

Default Re: How to raise juvies

Much easier to go Bare bottom IMO.
    Learned it the hard way. . .
    Go with something 55-75 gallons. Since they will be moved to a 100 gallon planted tank later on I would do the 55.