ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Artemiss" for fin rot

Registered Member

Default "Artemiss" for fin rot

One of my Discus came down with fin and tail rot. I have Loaches in my tank so most remedies will kill some or all of my Loaches. I do not have a tank to use as a hospital tank and I want to treat my whole tank to make sure no other fish get this fungus. My LFS, which has very knowledgeable people, suggested this product. They say it works but has to be added daily for 10 days or more. It has some conditions to work, no charcoal, no other meds, raise the temp to 86 and no ammonia so feed less food. Anyone have experiencer with this? I put it in my tank and today is day 1.
    Last edited by Elliots; 10-21-2013 at 07:24 PM.

Gorf

Default Re: "Artemiss" for fin rot

I have no experience with Artemiss & can't find the ingredients.

You may use Seachem Paraguard for fin-rot.

Dose daily & due to your tank inhabitants, on day 1 dose only 25% normal dose. Day 2 dose 50% normal dose. Day 3 & onwards dose regular amount. Dose until condition of fish has recovered. Daily water changes before dosing. Suggest 7-14 days treatment.

Leave temp the same, turn off UK, remove Carbon & Purigen, feed as normal.

Registered Member

Thanks Gorf, my LFS carries Seachem products but Paraguard was not suggested. I do not know if they had it in stock or not but these guys are good, if they did not carry it they would have suggested it. I did my first days treatment last night. I will see how things are tonight when it is time for a water change and the second day. I am in NYC so it is about 10 hours for me to work and get home from now 9AM NYC time. After one day of treatment I do not expect anything to happen but since this appears to be a new product I will report what I see even if there is no change.