ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Hello

Registered Member

Cool Hello

Hello Simply Discus. I'm Jon and I've always wanted to show off a pair or tank of discus! (Who hasn't...) I have been keeping fish for about 6-7 years now. I've learned a lot in that time, but hardly anything as it seems at times. My dad got me into the hobby with a salt water FOWLR tank that I helped him with. The world within the tank was magical to me. I took on the hobby myself with a 30G freshwater, I liked the idea of plants. I started with mollies, swordtails, neons, otos, and cherry barbs - which began to breed for me for several generations. My success in plants was algae and crypts. I then discovered aquascaping and high tech tanks. I pushed in this direction from that point on. It was an art outlet for my brain. From what I've read it may be my downfall with discus, more on that later. Algae took the 30G, so I went to a 10G with otos, zebra danio, and a beautiful red betta. I even tried my very own micro 2.5G seiyru that was cursed by algae and may it rest on shelf peacefully, for now.