ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New discus sick - need help please

Registered Member

Default New discus sick - need help please

Hi everyone, I am new to discus and need help. Have not been able to figure out how to make our new family members feel better and would greatly appreciate your advice. I think everything is covered in the questionnaire. I probably have more info than needed since I am trying to cover the questions that I see on other posts.
    Thank you!

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?

Some of my new juvenile discus are not doing well. 10 2.5 inch discus arrived 4 wks ago from Discus Hans. 4 are clearly thriving and are well over 3 inches now and are eating and pooping machines, 2 are doing OK, but not growing as quickly and the other 4 are not visibly eating, doing a lot of hiding and are looking thin. They do swim with the group when not hiding, but show almost no interest in food when others are pigging out. The four that have issues are 2 ea scribbled and brilliant turquoise. The 6 that are OK are 2 ea blue diamonds, marlboro red and flachen.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds).
    Not eating and growing and getting thin. One is turning dark. At least two have white poop. I would not say that is it stringy. Some appears to be normal shape except all white, and some looks transparent and slightly fluffy. Not easy to catch them at it since they don’t seem to eat. There is occasional flashing against the inlet tubes, etc. but no visible skin, fin or gill issues. There are black fin ‘margins’ that are more pronounced on some of them.