AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Fishless Cycle - 5 1/2 Weeks and Counting

Registered Member fishtanktenderfoot's Avatar
    Real Name
    Steph

Default Fishless Cycle - 5 1/2 Weeks and Counting

Greetings SD folks, I'm a long time listener, first time caller (so to speak)...

I have learned much from you already, but I could use some direction now (or maybe just encouragement.)

I am fairly new to it all and very excited at the prospect of Discus keeping!

So I have a new tank that is being cycled using ammonia kept at 4 ppm. What I am finding is that my tank gets ammonia and nitrite to zero within 24 hrs for a couple of days but then my ph steadily drops until it is below 6.0 and then the ammonia stalls. At that point, I will do a 60% water change which brings my ph back up to 7.6, and the whole thing repeats. Should I be doing something differently? Or do I just need patience?

Tank set up:
    93G (48"L x 18"W x 25"H)
    Thin layer PFS
    Manzanita branch sand-blasted and boiled
    Rocks that passed the acid test (3 drops of my API nitrate #2 bottle)
    4 potted plants (low light high temp variations)
    Current USA Satellite+ LED 48" light
    Eheim 2075
    Air pump with 2 stones
    In-line heater

Water is 84F
    I use aged heated aerated water run through a carbon filter. I have a chlorine tester on order so I am using a de-chlorinator for now to be safe. My ph is 7.0-7.2 out of the tap. My aged water is 7.6. Tank TDS is 153 if that matters.

Sorry so long. Thanks for reading! Please share any thoughts you might have on my cycling. I'm mostly bummed because I'm missing Kenny's August shipment, darn it!

Sam

Registered Member Keith Perkins's Avatar
    Real Name
    CozyKeith

Default Re: Fishless Cycle - 5 1/2 Weeks and Counting