AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Project Log - Discus Take 1

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kris

Default Project Log - Discus Take 1

This is my first attempt at discus, it involved obtaining 10 turquoise discus from a California importer that got discus from Vietnam.

The fish looked good, were cheap, and grew nicely when I had them, but it turns out, they had very weak systems and quite a few died suddenly.

Out of 10, 4 remained.

From my experience and after digging through breeding logs here on Simply, it turns out these fish have been treated extremely roughly in transport from Vietnam and may have been dosed with hormones due to their relatively small size yet fully formed color patterns on the body that don't usually form until they get much bigger. It turns out one of the 10 Turquoise discus had FULL adult coloration but died shortly after. All these fish were 3" discus, but they did grow nicely while they were healthy.

System summary up until I had problems with the discus:

• 60 gallon Acrylic tank bare bottom
    • Eheim Jager 200w heater set to 86F
    • Rena Filstar XP3 loaded with filter foam and Seachem Pond Matrix

Maintenance regiment:

• Tap water @ 90F treated with Seachem Safe and aged for 2 hours in a brute trash can and air stone, water placed into aquarium once it has cooled to 86F
    • daily 70% water changes, just barely enough for them to swim around comfortably
    • daily vacuuming of the bare bottom tank
    • 2x weekly cleaning of canister filter pads

Once I started having problems, I first suspected it as some kind of flagellate problem as bloat is common with discus and these were very stressed fish. Discus were going dark, not eating and died within 2-3 days:

• Tank temperature was first raised to 90F
    • Tank was treated with Metronidazole at a rate of 6x 500mg tablets to the 60 gallons per day to no effect after a week