AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: 3 Month Update: Stendkers Grow Out of from 2.5"

Default 3 Month Update: Stendkers Grow Out of from 2.5"

A little late but it has been busy with the holidays. I was able to get the wife to help me today so I have ruler pics! It is amazing how much you can misjudge the size of a fish when it is in the water, behind the glass. Either my brain magnifies the size... or the glass and water do. I think it is a combo of both. I will say I am still learning quite a bit and will put everything to use when I pick up 15 more from Hans in 2 to 3 months.

So, I am looking for honest, and even brutal (John / Rick) input on these fish. Although I am proud I have kept these 8 alive after starting with ten, I am thinking I can do better the next time around.

I will start with my favorite. My novice eye thinks this one has the best shape and size of the bunch. He is also boss of the tank.
    current size is 4.5" (this one I could swear was at least 5 to 5.5 in the water)
    [IMG][/IMG]
    and in the tank
    [IMG][/IMG]

This one is a close second.
    current size 4.5"

and in the tank
    [IMG][/IMG]

My wife's favorite
    current size 4"
    [IMG][/IMG]
    and in the tank
    [IMG][/IMG]

the rest of the crew
    [IMG][/IMG]
    [IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
    My future hero fish. No idea why this little guy is so far behind but he is only 3". He and my Marlbor Red have become buddies. The red will chase every other fish away from FDBW cubes and lets this one hang out, munchnig away right beside him. Whenever there is trouble about, he hangs tight with the red. He has taken on the personality of big red as well. This little runt is a force to be reckoned with in the tank, chasing the other fish, twice as big, all over the tank.
    [IMG][/IMG]

And last but not least - a little video of the gang.