AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Geophagus hybrids... Oops!

Default Geophagus hybrids... Oops!

I've been keeping several species of Geophagus for the past six or seven years. I often keep them in groups of four to six fish per species, and I usually keep at least two different species of geo per tank. I've bred a few species of them now, and I've never had a geo spawn outside of its species. Most other seasoned geo keepers haven't reported this, either. There have been exactly three reports of supposed geo hybridizing that I could find online, but they only showed the occasional spawning video or pictures of an adult fish that was supposedly a cross. I'm a "seeing is believing" kind of guy and I am usually highly skeptical of South American cichlid hyrbids because they do not do so as readily as Central American cichlids.

That made it a bit of a surprise when, a few days before Christmas, a young female Geophagus sp. 'Orange Head Tapajos' started flirting with a male Geophagus parnaibae that I've had for several years. He is the last of his original group, as the rest have slowly died out. I've left him in my 150 gallon community to live out the rest of his days, and his overall health and condition looked fairly poor, so I expected to wake up and find him floating any day. Instead, after a couple days of courting, he actually did spawn with the female orange head.

My theory is that there are no male orange heads in my group of four, and the female decided she needed to pair with someone. Where there's a will, there's a way, I guess.

Default Re: Geophagus hybrids... Oops!

The first thought was, "Okay, these eggs aren't fertile." I decided I'd give the parents a shot anyway to see what happened.