ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: 65 Gallon Equipment- All of it?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Stephanie

Default 65 Gallon Equipment- All of it?

Hi Everyone. Please forgive me if some of this has been gone over, but as I'm new, I'm going to compile a couple equipment questions into one thread in hopes of gaining some opinions. I'm new to this as I sit here staring at my newly purchased empty 65 gallon tank, wondering, what on earth do I buy for it?

So I think I've made up my mind on my filter. After much research and reading countless reviews, I believe I'm going to go with the Sunsun canister filter with UV. I originally had my heart set on a 406, but with the reviews and the price of the sunsun, I can't not try it. If needed to supplement I will go with the C4 HOB, and if it turns out to be nothing more than a big wet paper weight, live and learn, right?

Now, the sunsun comes with just a few filter media pads that I understand leave a bit to be desired. I'm wondering has anyone used the Drs Foster & Smith media pads to cut to size? I also plan to use biomax. Next question....I understand there's a lot of controversy on carbon and things like zeocarb (although I'm not sure why), but wondering your thoughts on Purigen? So far, I've only been able to find positive info and zero cons about using it. Was thinking of trying this in the Dr Foster & Smith fine mesh bags.