AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Starting a new tank with Discus

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Dan

Question Starting a new tank with Discus

Hi everyone.

I am a novice at this but planning to start a tank with Discus and other community fishes. I have done lots of researches and readings online the past couple of weeks. I have a 90 gallon tank. I plan to have a planted tank with Eco-Complete Subtrate. I have purchased a Fluval 406 External Filter, EHEIM Jager Aquarium Thermostat Heater, 250-Watt, and other necessary equipments (I think ) I will begin the fishless cycle process, but will use the Tetra SafeStart Plus to speed up the process. I am watching the How To Keep Discus on You Tube and have questions about the quarantine steps for new fishes.

Is there a preferred order of adding fishes? Discus first and other community fishes after or vice versa?

With a new tank, do I need to put the new fishes in a quarantine tank after I bought it from the store?

I will also be given 3 discus. These discus are already in an established tanks for a year now. Do I still need to put them in quarantine for a few weeks?

I have also purchased these equipments:
    Seachem Prime
    Seachem Ammonia Alert
    Fluval Ammonia Remover
    Fluval Biomax Bio Rings
    Fluval Zeo-Carb
    API Test Kit
    API Stress Coat Water Conditioner
    Python No Spill Clean & Fill Vacuum System

I would very highly appreciate your answers to my questions and any comments/suggestions about my plan for the tank, setup and equipments.

Thank you.

Dan

Real Name
    Naz

Default Re: Starting a new tank with Discus

All fish that you want in your tank should be quarantined at least for six weeks, also I may add go with bare bottom tank.
    Quote from Colin Powell