ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Member Spotlight for December 2015 - ARDAN

Default Member Spotlight for December 2015 - ARDAN

I'm very pleased to present the December 2015 member spotlight on ARDAN - a member who many of you know has been with the forum since its inception in 2002, and who served as a moderator for 10 years !

Q - Please tell us all a little about yourself, what makes You tick? Single, married, attached? What do you do for a living, besides creating beautiful hand-crafted gift items? Other hobbies? Any significant other non-discus achievements you want to brag about?

A – I am happily married to my wife Renee for 34 years. We have 3 wonderful children, our oldest son is 31, our daughter is 28, and our youngest son is 25. I am a welder/metal fabricator by trade and have been doing this for 35 years. What makes me tick is that I love to be challenged to learn new things and fix things. My hobbies are making things out of wood, acrylic, and metal. Most hobbies fill the garage and basement.

My Wife and Daughter

Oldest Son

Youngest Son on the Left

Q - How did you get into discus? Where was the first discus you saw? How long had you been into fish first?

A – In the early 1970’s I had a paper route in Billings Montana and I would deliver the newspapers from 2:00 a.m. until 4:30 a.m. A small pet shop moved into my route and that was my favorite place to stop and gaze at the fish. Not long after that I applied for a part time job at the pet shop, started collecting tanks and fish. Within a couple years I saw some discus in a book and mail ordered some discus. I was hooked.

Q - What strains are you the most happy with? Which do you think need some work? Are you working on anything new and exciting now? What strain/s do you like best, personally?